Parting is such sweet sorrow

Just a quick post tonight because it’s late and I don’t have much time to go deep. 

One way to make extra money to go towards debt repayment is to sell your things.  Well, as I look around, I don’t have much to sell… no extra cars or boats, no tools, nothing that can bring in big money.  But I do have lots of little things hanging around.  I’m trying to scale down anyway because I will be moving soon and do not want to take much with me.  

So far, I have posted (in online yard sales) two small coolers, a scientific calculator, two prom dresses, blank DVDs, and my piccolo that my parents got for me in high school.  Also a pair of dance shoes that I’m offering to my dance friends first.  It’s hard to part with some of these things, but when I think about the long term gains, and what it is costing me to hold on, it’s a little easier to let go.  In fact, I’m getting a little excited.  I can’t wait to see my new clutter free space.  :-). 

In addition, I have a stack of things I can take to work, such as plastic cups and paper plates for our kitchenette.  No need in moving those things.

And lastly, I have a bag of things to recycle.  This is antything I feel guilty about throwing away.  Such as a gravy bowl I never use.

Yes, it is hard to part with things that may be sentimental or important, but I think that once we conceptualize how much it will affect our bottom line, we become less attached and more free.

Have you had to sell off things?  What was the hardest thing you had to part with?

Author: journeytofinancialfreedom2018

Please join me on my path to financial freedom following a Biblical method of managing and paying off debts.

Leave a Reply

