Future Planning

Hi, everyone!  I just got back from an Estate and Wills seminar at my church.  I needed to ask a question for my mom and didn’t think that I would need to do any planning for myself because I don’t have many assets at this time. I was wrong.  Creating a living will and other health care advance directives goes beyond our finances.  They give others the ability to ask how you are doing following a serious accident, and gives them the ability to make decisions and carry out your wishes in the event that you are unable.  Recently, a friend of mine passed away without any health care directives, and he was just a little younger than me.  We seem to think that we have more time to think about these things, but the truth is, none of us knows when we will take our last breath.  So whether you are 19 or 99, it’s never too early or too late to complete your forms.  The Living Will and Health Care Surrogate forms do not need to be completed with an attorney, so there’s no excuse not to have them.

It is a good idea to begin thinking about wills and trusts, even if you do not feel you have much to plan for.  Wills are a way to make sure your wishes are carried out, and a wonderful way to communicate your legacy.  This is the most important thing people look for, not the monetary items.  I’ll write more about the legacy statements another day.

Do you have a living will or other health care directive?

Author: journeytofinancialfreedom2017

Please join me on my path to financial freedom following a Biblical method of managing and paying off debts.

Leave a Reply

