Journey to Financial Freedom

Hi, everyone!  Welcome to my site!  I have begun a journey of paying off my debts and hope you can join me on this journey.  We can’t do this alone, right?  We all need a community, and I need you to help me along and keep me motivated.

So where am I right now?  Up to my eyeballs in debt!  I have student loan debt, a car loan, a credit card, and a medical bill.  Ugh!  I am tired of being controlled by this debt and am ready to focus and work as hard as I have to so that I can be free of this weight.  I have a family to care for, and it’s difficult to do what I need to do and plan for the future with this wall of debt.  Romans 13:8 says that we should let no debt remain outstanding.  But that’s exactly what I have done… I have outstanding debt!  And I don’t mean “outstanding” in the sense of “fantastic” or “superior”, I mean, I have taken out more debt than I should have.  I have bought things that I could not afford with money that I didn’t have. And now I’m paying for it every… single… month.

I have a plan to pay this debt as quickly as possible, but it may take three to four years before it is all gone.  I’m following Dave Ramsey’s plan of first putting $1,000 in emergency savings (in another bank, so it’s not easy to transfer).  Then I will tackle the smallest debt first, working my way up to the largest debt.  This is going to take razor-sharp focus and learning to say “no” to things that will cause me to start spending money again.  The biggest thing for me is going to be cooking at home instead of going out to eat.  Proverbs 21:20 says “In the house of the wise are stores of choice food and oil, but a foolish man devours all he has.”  My  mom had an elderly friend who said we can go poor by spending all our money on food.  She lived a very simple life, and I admired her.

On this site, I’ll be talking about a lot of different things including ways to save money at the grocery store, how to cut expenses, how to make extra money, and even how to simplify and go paperless.

So will you join me in my journey?  In the comments, let me know who you are and if you are also on a debt-free journey.  I look forward to getting to know you all!

Author: journeytofinancialfreedom2018

Please join me on my path to financial freedom following a Biblical method of managing and paying off debts.

Leave a Reply

